Aside

Let’s chat……

Welcome to my blog….

If you would like to express your opinion, discuss an event or just vent – here is your opportunity.  Just leave a comment below and I’ll get back to you.

P.S.  I am politically incorrect without apology.      AJS

 

8 responses to “Let’s chat……

  1. I do not believe we are born Muslim, Buddhist, Methodist, Catholic, Presbyterian, Mormon, Jehovah Witness, Baptist, etc. I believe we are born sinners. Yes, our parents, family and early contacts try to form us or ‘make’ us what they want us to be, influencing us to follow their beliefs as they dedicate their children to God, their ‘church’, or nothing. I am not going to hell because my ancestors did not believe nor will I go to heaven because of mom’s, dad’s, grandma’s, grandpa’s or anyone else’s belief – just my own. Later in life we make our own personal choices as to what we are going to do with God.

  2. I was raised in what most would consider a Christian home. I went to Sunday School and later taught Sunday School. There was a Bible in the home and we observed the beliefs and traditions of Christianity. However, we were not born again so we did not have a personal relationship with God. We had the appearance of belonging to the Christian religion. I am born again now and understand the difference between a religion and a relationship. I am a sinner saved by grace. I was invited by the Holy Spirit to accept Jesus as my Lord and Savior. I accepted Him over thirty years ago.

  3. Materialism can refer either to the simple preoccupation with the material world, as opposed to intellectual or spiritual concepts, or to the theory that physical matter is all there is. This theory is far more than a simple focus on material possessions. It states that everything in the universe is matter, without any true spiritual or intellectual existence. Materialism can also refer to a doctrine that material success and progress are the highest values in life. This doctrine appears to be prevalent in western society today….

  4. In order to be saved God’s word of the scriptures tell us to repent…from what did you repent?

  5. I wasn’t specific in my repentance because things I may have overlooked were most likely offensive to the Lord. I just asked Him to forgive me for all of my sins. I think we come to Him as we are, filthy, and then He begins the process of cleaning us up and making us acceptable in His sight for as long as we live on earth. I often think about the thief on the cross. He had time to do nothing but yet he believed that Christ was who He said He was and he will spend eternity in heaven. I believe there are many sincere, death bed confessions.

    • One scripture tells me “Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.” and yet another tells me “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved—” Didn’t read anything about confession, communion, the church, tithing, or asking for forgiveness, God is love, just love everybody – are the requirements different for different people?

  6. How many of our church members are phonies or lost.” Look at this concept – that 20% of church members perform 80% of the ministry that 70% of members perform 20% of the ministry, and that 10 % of those who are church members that claim Christ do nothing. I have read, close to 85% of churches in America are on the plateau or declining. Candidly, there is a problem, and it is not in the Whitehouse, it is in the church house – check out this article – interesting though disturbing – http://www.facingforever.org/downloads/lost_in_church.pdf

  7. I quit going to ‘church’ years ago. Disappointed in everyone I went to. Some were trying to keep up with the world and others didn’t even appear to know what the Bible said. I know God will pull the Body of Christ together and I have read that the Christian faith is the largest growing faith in the world as of late. People from other countries are not accepting the traditional Catholic faith or the Protestant. It is like God is gathering the harvest. America is back sliding. People of the Christian faith need to quit trying to make God conform to their progressive lifestyle. It is not going to happen. I have heard American Christians described as ‘hot house’ Christians. We have not had to face the persecution other Christians are facing around the world. With obama – I think we will get a taste of that soon.

Leave a Reply

